11th annual SAFTA's winners

While some of our faves lost out, a lot of them finally got the recognition they deserve!

By  | Jun 22, 2020, 01:46 PM  | Top of The

11th annual SAFTA's winners

As you now well know, the 11th annual SA film and TV awards went down this past weekend and our favourite actors, directors, producers, shows and the teams that make it all possible were given the recognition they deserve. 

Here's a list of the winners announced during the live show that was broadcast on Saturday evening. 

In the television category:

Best TV Soap/Telenovela
The Road

Best Achievement in Directing - TV Soap/Telenovela
High Rollers

Best Actor - TV Soap/Telenovela
Anthony Coleman 

Best Actress - TV Soap/Telenovela

Tina Jaxa 

Best Supporting Actor - TV Soap/Telenovela
Mandla Gaduka

Best Supporting Actress - TV Soap/Telenovela
Linda Sebezo - Sharon Dlamini

Linda Sebezo Sharon D

Most Popular TV Soap


Best TV Drama

Best Achievement in Directing - TV Drama

Best Actor - TV Drama
Jerry Mofokeng - Heist

Best Actress - TV Drama
Tiffany Barbuzano 

Best Supporting Actor - TV Drama

Warren Masemola 

Best Supporting Actress - TV Drama

Jana Cilliers 

Best TV Comedy
Puppet Nation ZANews

Best Actress - TV Comedy
Chantal Herman

Best Actor - TV Comedy
James Borthwick

Best Supporting Actress - TV Comedy
Sylvaine Strike

Best Supporting Actor - TV Comedy
Reabetswe Rangaka

Best Achievement in Directing - TV Comedy
Alex Fynn and Johan Vermaak, Puppet Nation ZANews

Best Talk Show
Real Talk with Anele

Best TV Presenter
Thembisa Mdoda

The Best TV Presenter goes to - Tembisa Mdoda

A post shared by SAFTAs (@saftassa) on

In the film category:

Best Actor - Feature Film
Dann-Jaques Mouton 

Best Actress - Feature Film
Shoki Mokgape 

Best Supporting Actor - Feature Film
Abdurahgmaan Adams 

Best Supporting Actress - Feature Film
Hlubi Mboya 

Best Achievement in Directing – Feature Film
Oliver Schmitz

Best Feature Film

Best Documentary Feature
Nobody's Died Laughing

Best Student Film 
Finding Freedom

Best Short Film
The Suit

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Junaid Ahmed 
Lydia Mokgokoloshi

The Youth Achiever Award goes to Thapelo Mokoena @mokoenalive #SAFTAs11

A post shared by SAFTAs (@saftassa) on

Youth Achiever Award recipient

Thapelo Mokoena

Main image credit: instagram.com/saftassa