Everything you need to know about the 11th Annual SAFTAs

These nominations are bound to get tongues wagging 

By  | Jun 22, 2020, 01:46 PM  | Top of The

Everything you need to know about the 11th Annual SAFTAs

The nominees for the 11th annual South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs) were announced earlier this morning at a media breakfast held in Bryanston, North of Johannesburg.

Hosted by actress Nambitha Mpumlwana, it was also announced that the SAFTA’s would be moving to a new home for the next 5 years.

The first awards ceremony in this new home will be held at Sun City under the theme 'SA’s Got It, Let’s Celebrate It.’

The new venue probably also explains the rumour that there’s also going to be a SAFTA’s beach party.

Organizers of the SAFTA’s, the NFVF, have also extended the nomination deadline for the following discretionary awards.

Our faves including the likes of Anele Mdoda, Bonnie Mbuli, Zola Nombona, Linda Sokhulu and Samela Tyelbooi all scored nominations.

Seeing as there are 258 nominees in over 89 categories, we understand why the ceremony needs to be held over two nights!

Some of the #SAFTAs11 nominees include:

Best Talk Show - Real Talk With Anele, Republiek van Zoid Afrika and The Chatroom

Anele Mdoda

Best Variety Show - Expresso, Jou Me se Chef and Sarah Graham Food Safari season 1

Best Magazine Show - 50/50, All Access Mzansi and The Man Cave

Best International Format Show - Clash of the Choirs, The Great South African Bake Off Season 1 and The Voice South Africa

Best Music Show - Coke Studio, Jam Sandwich and Xperia Mashlab

Best Game Show - Musiek Roulette season 3, Noot vir Noot season 41, Point of Order

Best Reality Show - The Ultimate Braai Master, Vrydag4Uur and Weg! Agtepaale, Namibie

Best TV Drama - Bloedbroers, Heist season 1 and Sober Companion

Best Supporting Actor (TV Drama) - Warren Masemola, Tumisho Masha, Chris van Niekerk

Samela Tyelbooi

Best Supporting Actress (TV Drama) - Jana Cilliers, Tina Jaxa, Samela Tyelbooi

Best Actor TV Drama - Neels van Jaarsveld, Jerry Mofokeng, Trevor Gumbi

Best Actress TV Drama - Tiffany Barbuzano, Brenda Ndxoli, Linda Sokhulu

Best TV Soap/Telenovela - High Rollers, Isibaya, The Road

Best Supporting Actor (Soap/Telenovela) - Mandla Gaduka, Pallance Dlaldla, Warren Masemola

Pallance Dladla

Best Supporting Actress (Soap/Telenovela) - Maggie Benedict, Nandi Nyembe, Linda Sebezo

Best Actor (Soap/Telenovela) - Antony Coleman, Justin Strydom, Siyabonga Twala

Best Actress  (Soap/Telenovela) - Tina Jaxa, Clemetine Mosimane, Masasa Mbangeni

Best TV Comedy - Puppet Nation ZANEWS!, Hotel, Those Who Can’t

Best Supporting Actor (TV Comedy) - Deon Lotz, Graham Wier, Reabetswe Rangaka

Best Supporting Actress (TV Comedy) - Sylviane Strike, Kate Normington, Robyn Scott

Best Actor (TV Comedy) - James Borthwick, Kagiso Lediga, Grant Swanby

Best Actress (TV Comedy) - Zola Nombona, Hannah Barnard, Chantal Herman

Best Supporting Actor (Feature Film) - Grant Swanby, Abdurahgmaan Adams, Deon Lotz

Best Supporting Actress (Feature Film) - Hlubi Mboya, Leleti Khumlo, Renate Stuurman


Best Actor (Feature Film) - Deon Lotz, Dan Jaques Mouton, Garion Dowds

Best Actress (Feature Film) - Anel Alexander, Shoki Mokgape, Christa Visser

Best Talk Show Host - Anele Mdoda, Karen Louise Greef (Karen Zoid), Bonnie Mbuli

Best Made-For-TV Movie - Skorokoro, Die Geur van Appelkose, Stick-Up

Best TV Presenter - Tumi Morkae, Siv Ngesi, Bob Mabena, Katlego Maboe, Chanely Wong, Laurian Nortje, Lawrence Maleka, Thembisa Mdoda, Masechaba Ndlovu

*Sidenote: public voting is now open for the Best TV Presenter category so you can expect your faves to start sharing details of how to vote for them very soon. 

Xulu family from Uzalo

Most Popular TV Soap - Isibaya, Zabalaza, The Road, Gold Diggers, Isidingo, Generations The Legacy, Uzalo season 2, Ashes to Ashes season 2, Rhythm City, Suidooster, Getroud Met Rugby, Scandal!, Ring of Lies, Greed and Desire, Binnelanders, High Rollers, 7de Laan

UPDATE: You may have noticed that Skeem Saam and Muvhango are not on the list. 

Well, according to Tshisa Live, SABC 1 soapie Skeem Saam didn't enter this year due to time constraints but will submit work for consideration in future. 

SABC 2 soapie Muvhango however boycotted last year's awards and intend to do the same this year.

"Our stance remains as is. There has been little if any effort from the organisers to improve the judging process or allowing the public vote to hold higher rank. We remain stern in our views until a significant change is noticed... As mentioned previously, we seek to protect the integrity of our hard working crew and actors from the narrow views of a few individuals. It’s just not fair," said Muvhango associate producer Morishe Matlejoane.

The 11th SAFTA’s will take place on the 16-18 March 2017 at Sun City with the main event broadcast live on the 18th on SABC 2.

Main image credit: Twitter