SAFTAs nominees: Nods and snubs

By  | Jun 22, 2020, 01:46 PM  | Top of The

The South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs) nominees for 2016 were announced on Thursday, and there were a few snubs! 

Date My Family (season one) is up for Best Reality Show, alongside Global Wheeling (season one) and Ultimate Braai Master (season three). 

Ayanda, a movie produced by Terry Pheto, was nominated for five awards, including Best Feature Film. The movie’s lead actress, Fulu Moguvhani, scored a Best Actress nomination.

Pics: Celebs at Ayanda Movie premiere

The Best Lead Actor and Best Lead Actress in a TV soapie are two of the most anticipated categories. 

Isidingo’s Tema Sebopedi and Leeanda Reddy will go head-to-head in the female category, with Binnelanders’ Brumilda van Rensburg also in the mix. 

Motlatsi Mafatshe (Isidingo), Isibaya’s Vusi Kunene and Siyabonga Twala are nominated in the best male category.

Isibaya, which has a total of seven nominations, is also up for Best Soap, along with Ashes to Ashes and Rhythm City

Saints and Sinners also scored several nominations, ZA News: Puppet Nation is the top performer with 11 nominations.

But how is it possible that Skeem Saam only received a nod for Best Achievement in Directing (TV Drama)? 

TV personality Minnie Dlamini and Scandal’s Masasa Mbangeni were some of the celebs who attended the nominations announcement at Johannesburg’s Monte Casino.

Masasa and Scandal were snubbed big time, and she let her feelings be known by retweeting a tweet about the judges’ decisions.

READ: Masasa Mbangeni is leaving Scandal!


Here are more SAFTA nominees:

Best TV Drama

Saints and Sinners

Best Achievement by a Lead Actress (TV Drama)

Linda Sokhulu - Shreds and Dreams
Gugu Masondo - Shreds and Dreams
Ntathi Moshesh - Saints and Sinners

Best Achievement by a Lead Actor (TV Drama)

Bheki Mkhwane - Uzalo
S'dumo Mtshali -Saints and Sinners
Siyabonga Radebe - Saints and Sinners

Best Achievement in Directing (TV Soap)

Neo Matsunyane - Skeem Saam
Eric Mogale, Siyabonga Mkhize, Heather Cooke - Rhythm City
Gert Van Niekerk - Ashes to Ashes

Best Feature Film

Dis Ek, Anna
For Love and Broken Bones

Best Achievement by a Lead Actress (Feature Film)

Fulu Mughovani - Ayanda
Thishiwe Ziqubu - While You Weren't Looking
Jana Strydom - Treurgrond

Image credit: Supplied