Voting for the inaugural Mzansi Magic viewer's choice awards opens tonight

The inaugural awards ceremony is the next step in the continued growth of the local channel.

By  | Jun 22, 2020, 01:45 PM  | Top of The

Voting for the inaugural Mzansi Magic viewer's choice awards opens tonight

Earlier today, journalists from across Mzansi came together in Sandton for an announcement that confirmed industry whispers that one of South Africa's biggest entertainment channels was launching its own awards ceremony. 

Speaking to media at the launch event, M-Net Director of Local Entertainment Channels Reneilwe Sema said “Our audiences are involved, loyal, vocal and highly engaged especially in relation to their favourite personalities. Social media comes alive as they share their comments and opinions on the trend-setters, news-makers and heavy-hitters of pop culture. So to be able to organise and host a gala whose entire focus is on those stars, we believe we can give our viewers an evening of stand-out performance, red-carpet glamour and unforgettable truly Mzansi-styled magic.”

And so the DStvMVCA (DSTV Mzansi Magic Viewer's Choice Awards) were born...

The launch event was hosted by media darling Bonang Matheba, who will also be hosting the main ceremony in August.

Viewers who vote will also stand a chance to win a number of fantastic prizes including cash and a car.

Come 26 August 2017, we will get to find out which sports personality, DJ, actor, actress, presenter and more Mzansi magic viewers are feeling. 

Seeing as voting opens tonight, check out the DSTV Mzansi Magic Viewer's Choice Awards nominees:

Song of the Year

TV Presenter


Rising Star

Radio Personality



Music Artist or Group


Sports Personality

There is also the Life Changer category - the sole aim of which is to recognize and celebrate ordinary people making an impact in local communities. If you know such a person, you can visit the Mzansi magic website to nominate them. 

There is no voting in this category and the winner will be chosen by the sponsor but nominees stand in line to take R50,000 home. 

Voting opens Wednesday 21 June 2017 at 00:00 and the main ceremony will take place on 26 August 2017.

Main image credit: