The MAMAs: A night of musical explosion

By  | Jun 22, 2020, 01:47 PM 

Rosebank's 7th Avenue was at a standstill on Thursday night, and it was all thanks to the MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMAs) nomination announcement.

The streets of Rosebank saw Africa’s most talented musicians receive nominations for the hard work they put in throughout 2014 and leading up to 2015.

The red carpet was filled with musicians and other celebrities, who came to support their counterparts at the event.

The Cashtime crew rolled in casually wearing their new winter hoodie range. The Cashtime general, K.O, received nominations for Best Hip Hop and Song of The Year.

Although they were not there for any nominations, Mafikizolo always seem to do fashionably well on the red carpet.

Cassper Nyovest also had a great night - apart from that near fall on stage:


"I make a million a month" 🎼🎥🎤 #MTVMAMAs

A video posted by ZAlebs (@zalebs) on

He too received a couple of nominations, which was honestly a no-brainer for many of us. Cassper received nominations for Best Act Transformed by Absolut, Best Hip Hop, and Song of the Year.

Another performance we thoroughly enjoyed was from Tanzania's award-winning artist, Diamond, who performed his latest single Nana. Diamond also received a number of nominations for Best Male, Best Live and Best Collaboration.


Diamond killed his performance night though #Tanzania #MTVMAMAs #Nana

A video posted by ZAlebs (@zalebs) on

Here are the nominations in full:

Best Male
AKA (South Africa)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Sarkodie (Ghana)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female
Bucie (South Africa)
Busiswa (South Africa)
Seyi Shay (Nigeria)
Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Group
B4 (Angola)
Beatenberg (South Africa)
Black Motion (South Africa)
P-Square (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act Transformed by Absolut
Anna Joyce (Angola)
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Duncan (South Africa)
Patoranking (Nigeria)
Stonebwoy (Ghana)

Best Hip Hop
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
K.O. (South Africa)
Phyno (Nigeria)
Olamide (Nigeria)
Youssoupha (DRC)

Best Collaboration
AKA, Burna Boy, Da LES & JR: “All Eyes On Me” (SA/Nigeria)
Davido featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz: “The Sound” (Nigeria/SA)
Diamond & Iyanya: “Bum Bum” (Kenya/Nigeria)
Toofan & DJ Arafat: “Apero Remix” (Togo/Ivory Coast)
Stanley Enow & Sarkodie: “Njama Njama Cow Remix” (Cameroon/Ghana)

Song of the Year
Cassper Nyovest: “Doc Shebeleza” (South Africa)
Euphonik featuring Mpumi: “Busa” (South Africa)
DJ Fisherman & NaakMusiQ featuring DJ Tira, Danger & Dream Team: “Call Out” (South Africa)
K.O featuring Kid X: “Caracara” (South Africa)
Lil Kesh Featuring Olamide & Davido: “Shoki Remix” (Nigeria)
Mavins: “Dorobucci” (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol: “Sura Yako” (Kenya)
Toofan: “Gweta” (Togo)
Wizkid: “Show You The Money” (Nigeria)
Yemi Alade: “Johnny” (Nigeria)

Best Live
Big Nuz (South Africa)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
Toofan (Togo)

Video of the Year
“Crazy” - Seyi Shay Featuring Wizkid; Director: Meji Alabi
“Doors” - Prime Circle; Director: Ryan Kruger
“Love You Everyday” - Bebe Cool; Director: Clarence Peters
“Nafukwa” - Riky Rick; Director: Adriaan Louw
“The Sound” - Davido Featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz; Director: Sesan

Best Pop & Alternative
Fuse ODG (Ghana)
Jeremy Loops (South Africa)
Jimmy Nevis (South Africa)
Nneka (Nigeria)
Prime Circle (South Africa)

Best Francophone
DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast)
Jovi (Cameroon)
Laurette Le Pearle (DRC)
Tour 2 Garde (Ivory Coast)
Toofan (Togo)

Best Lusophone
Ary (Angola)
B4 (Angola)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
NGA (Angola)
Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)

Personality of the Year
Basketmouth (Nigeria)
Bonang Matheba (South Africa)
OC Ukeje (Nigeria)
Trevor Noah (South Africa)
Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)

The MTV Africa Music Awards takes place on 18 July in Durban and tickets go on sale on 18 June through Computicket.