Winners At The Amapiano Awards

The first ever award ceremony was a success

By  | Oct 25, 2021, 11:10 AM  | Kamo Mphela  | Top of The

Post main image
The inaugural Amapiano Awards took place this past weekend at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg. The electrifying performances from the most recognizable Amapiano acts was what social media users were amped about. 

Read more: Drama Over Amapiano Awards Nominees List

The awards were not live but SABC 1 came through for Amapiano fans and announced that they will broadcast the ceremonious event, at a later date to be announced.

But don't fret, we got you covered on the list of awardees so when the channel does broadcast the event, you already have a clear picture of who won an award.

Hosting the event was the beautiful and glowing Zola Zee Lovin who is expecting Prince Kaybee's child. Holding it down with her was the ever so funny Moshe Ndiki and Robot Boii. Hosting the red carpet was  Zanele Potelwa.

Heating up the stage was Kamo Mphela who received rave reviews from people. Boohle also slayed her performances and looked dazzling in red. Sir Trill brought the stage down as well. Other performances were from Nhlanhla Nciza, Daliwonga, Nokwazi and others. Closing off the show was up and coming DJ Shera the DJ.

Controversial artist and painter, Rasta was at the red carpet and he was there to pay homage to the late Amapiano Kings, Mpura, Killer Kau, Thando Tot and TD.

The winners of the night were:

Best Amapiano Newcomer - Boohle

Best Amapiano Dance Act - Kamo Mphela

Best Amapiano Lyricist/Rapper - Mpura

Best Amapiano Female Vocalist - Boohle

Best Amapiano Male Vocalist - Sir Trill

Best Amapiano Music Producer - Kabza De Small

Best Amapiano Male Artist Award - Mr. JazziQ

Best Amapiano Female Artist Award - Lady Du

Best Amapiano Street Dancer - Hope Ramafalo

Friends of Amapiano - Riky Rick

Best Amapiano Music Video - Dinaledi by Major League DJz featuring Abidoza, Mpho Sebina

Most Viral Amapiano Social Media Song of the Year - Khuza Gogo by DBN Gogo featuring Blaqnick, MasterBlaq, Mpura, Ama Avenger and MJ

Best Collaboration - Killer Kau & Mr. JazziQ ft. Reece Madlisa, Zuma and DJ Thackzin for Ama neighbour

Song Of The Year - Umsebenzi Wethu – Busta 929 and Mpura ft. Zuma, Mr. JazziQ, Lady Du & Reece Madlisa

The Song Of The Year winners took home R50 000, whereas the rest of the winners won R10 000. If you voted, you could have also won your share of prizes worth R100 000.

Announcing this great initiative of honoring Amapiano stars, they released an official statement and it reads: "What somewhat started as an “underdog’s sound” has now gone on to find itself at the forefront of music culture not only in Mzansi but the rest of the continent – and the world. It therefore came as a shock to many when categories in the prominent award ceremonies in the country were not dominated by Amapiano artists - despite the yanos leading in terms of fan base and numbers on social media.

“Launched right in the midst of a pandemic when artists are being told that they can’t work. The awards show is by the people for the people and winners are voted for the people themselves. Voters can win up to 100 000 worth of prized for voting for their favourite nominees. Artists will win 10 000 cash or each winning category while song of the year will win  a cash prize of 50 000 rands,” concluded the statement.

Read next: Why DJ Zinhle Declined Lasizwe's Invite To His Show

Picture credit: ANMG 
Read more